Cookies & Cream Cupcakes

I loved cupcakes before cupcakes were popular.  They were always one of my favorite things to bake.  For the most part, I didn’t venture outside the straight vanilla or chocolate cupcakes, though.  That’s why, as part of my 101 in 1001, I made a goal of baking one new cupcake a month.

This month’s cupcake is cookies and cream.  I love cookies and cream ice cream (not Ben & Jerry’s Milk & Cookies, though) which made cookies and cream cupcakes the perfect fit for my foray into new cupcakes.

I searched the net for recipes and it seems like everyone has a take on how to make these cupcakes.  I chose a recipe from How Sweet It Is (great website if you’ve never been) and made a few tweaks based on my preference and need for more than 12 cupcakes.  I took the cupcakes to work the next day for tasting and they were a huge hit.

How They Were Made…

1 cup butter

2 1/4 cups sugar

2 Eggs

2 teaspoons Vanilla

2 1/2 cups Flour

2 teaspoons Baking Powder

1 cup 2% Milk

24 Whole Oreo Cookies, Crushed into Chunks

Preheat oven to 350°

Cream butter, sugar and eggs together.  Batter should be kind of fluffy.

Add vanilla and mix through

Sift together flour and baking powder.  Add about half of the mixture to the batter and mix until throughly combined.

Keep mixer on low and add milk.

Gradually add in the remaining flour and baking powder mixture.

Crush Oreos into chunks.  I did this using a Ziplock bag and a rolling pin.  You want them to mostly be chunks so you can taste the cookies in the cupcakes.

Pour batter into lightly greased cupcake tins if you are not using paper cups.  Fill cups about 2/3 full.

Bake for 22-25 minutes or until you can insert a toothpick into the center and it comes out clean.

Leave tins on a wire rack to cool for about 10 minutes.  Then remove cupcakes to the wire racks and cool for about 15 minutes.  You want them to be cool to the touch so the frosting doesn’t melt.

For the Frosting…

2 Sticks of Unsalted Butter, Softened

1 1/2 – 2 lbs. Powdered Sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons Vanilla

2 tablespoons 2% Milk

15 Oreo Cookies, Finely Crushed

It’s easy to make the frosting while the cupcakes are in the oven.

Start creaming the butter and gradually add powdered sugar.  Use your judgement on how much powdered sugar to add.  I used all 2 lbs of powdered sugar for my frosting.  It makes it pretty sweet but had a good consistency.

Add the vanilla and continue to mix.

Mix in milk.  You may need an extra tablespoon to get to your preferred consistency.

Finely crush your Oreos and fold them into the frosting.  You don’t want them to be chunky like the cupcakes oreos because you need them apply well with the frosting.

Putting Them Together…

I don’t own a pastry bag so, I loaded some frosting in a big Ziploc, pushed it toward a corner and cut off just the tip of that corner.  Then I piped the frosting on to the cupcakes.  While it was still moist, I stuck half an Oreo on top for decoration.

Serving, Keeping, Etc.

These cupcakes are really meant to be served right away.  The cookies add an extra element to the cupcake that, after sitting out, can make them taste a little stale.  If you are not going to serve them right away I recommend storing the cupcakes in a Ziploc with the air sucked out and keeping the frosting refrigerated.  Once you are ready to serve, let the frosting sit out for about 15 minutes and then decorate your cupcakes.

2 thoughts on “Cookies & Cream Cupcakes

  1. Yummy! I should make this one by tomorrow since my niece will come by tomorrow afternoon. Thanks for the recipe. My kids will love it too.

  2. Oreo cookies are surely love by my kids. Your recipe is awesome since the cupcake and Oreo cookies are surely a perfect combination. Thanks for sharing this one.

Leave a Reply

