A Family Recipe for the #FBCookieSwap

I follow and read about 35 food blogs. I love finding new recipes or new variations on old recipes and I love pinning them for future use. Last year, one of my favorite bloggers from Love and Olive Oil started something called the “Food Blogger Cookie Swap” with The Little Kitchen. I didn’t read about it early enough to participate but, I saw a lot of my favorite bloggers participating and saw tons of pictures of delicious cookies on Twitter. So, when I saw the notification for signups this year, I knew I had to participate.

When I signed up, I wasn’t really sure I would be accepted. I’m far from a blogger let alone a food blogger and their are requirements to make sure that the participants are active. Even though I wasn’t sure I met the qualifications, I decide to make my donation to Cookies for Kids’ Cancer and wait. If anything, I was able to donate to another great cause. To my (kind of) surprise, I was accepted and received three matches who would receive my cookies. They were Sarah from The Life Albumn, Jocelyn from Inside the BruCrew Life and Kimberly from Rhubarb and Honey. Each would receive one dozen of the same cookie. It had to be a recipe new to our blog.

The biggest problem I had was deciding on what to make. I am not a recipe developer. I’m more of a recipe tweaker. I like to find recipes and then adjust them a little bit to my taste but, that doesn’t even really qualify as “adapted” most times. However, there is one recipe that my mom and my aunt make for Christmas that I knew would be a hit – Sour Cream Horns. So, I asked mom for the recipe and instead of just giving it to me, she actually made some with me. That might not seem like a big deal but, this is a cookie that I’ve been eating for 25 years and have no idea how to make so, it was kind of a big deal.

Of course, the cookies turned out great and they fit perfectly in little treat boxes I had picked up at Michael’s. It was recommended to ship our cookies Priority Mail through USPS and that most boxes would fit in the medium flat rate. Since my boxes were much smaller than the flat rate box, I decided to wrap them in brown paper and ship Priority Mail but, not flat rate. It was also recommended that we add tracking to our packages. I really meant to do that but, in a rush at the post office, that didn’t happen. So, I was left to wait to hear from my matches that they received their packages.

Priority Boxes

 

Let me tell you something that I learned…Priority Mail is a joke. When I clicked through on the little screen it said 2-3 days. Apparently that means 5 days. Thankfully, all my cookies arrived safely at their destinations and seemed to be enjoyed by all. I also received three packages of delicious, homemade cookies from three other bloggers; most of which were gone within a couple days.

IMG_20121203_174107IMG_20121205_181254 IMG_20121207_183005

Overall, my first #FBCookieSwap was a great experience. I had fun making my cookies, connecting with other bloggers and trying some new cookies. If I were to do it again next year, I would remember to track my packages. Not knowing was kind of stressful. If you think you might want to participate next year, I highly recommend signing up to receive the #FBCookieSwap notifications here. It was a fun experience and one that I would recommend. Now for the recipe…

Sour Cream Horns

 

Sour Cream Horns

1lb of Butter

Two Eggs, Separated

1 1/3 cups of Sour Cream

4 cups of All Purpose Flour, Separated

1 1/2 cups Sugar

1 1/2 cups Finely Chopped Walnuts

4 teaspoons Cinnamon

Mix together the butter, egg yolks and sour cream. Add in 3 cups of flour.

Put 1/2 cup to 1 cup of flour on a board. Turn out the dough on to the board and kneed 15 times, folding the dough in between kneeding. Incorporated enough flour to create a moist but firm dough.

Roll the dough into a log and cut into 8 equal pieces. Flatten the pieces into small discs, rap and refrigerate for at least two hours.

In a bowl or zip top bag, mix together sugar, walnuts and cinnamon.

On a well floured surface, roll one disc of dough out to 12-16 inch round. Distribute approximately 1/4-1/3 cup of sugar mixture evenly over dough and cut into 12-16 equal wedges.

Roll each wedge from the outside to the inside making it just tight enough to keep in the filling. Place each horn on a baking sheet brush completely with beaten egg white. The horns will rise but not spread so they can be placed fairly close together on the sheet.

Bake about 18 minutes at 375 degrees until golden brown.

 

2 thoughts on “A Family Recipe for the #FBCookieSwap

Leave a Reply

