You Have to Start Somewhere

Day One

My 365 in 365 project is off to a good start.  I started a book and did over an hour of cardio at the gym and had a realization that I don’t think I’m comfortable with yet   I feel mildly accomplished…and exhausted.

The first ten minutes of my workout were agonizing.  I just couldn’t get into it.  I kept looking at the timer thinking “That’s it? This is going to be awful.”  Once I got past the first ten, got a good playlist going and found my rhythm I was fine, though.  The time flew by and at the end I was left thinking I should do more.  It’s a great feeling to be working out again.  I haven’t been away from the gym for that long but I haven’t been going to the gym with a purpose until now.  When I wanted to stop, I kept thinking that I would have failed and then I’d have to blog about it.  I don’t like to fail and I really didn’t want to blog about it.  I have high hopes for this blog because I feel like it will hold me accountable to someone else besides myself…and I need that.

The Week Ahead

Here’s this week’s list of goals for 365 in 365:

  1. Finish reading the book I’ve started and blog a short review.
  2. Attend an exercise class.
  3. Do 2 hours of cardio this week.  I did 1 hour today so I only have 1 left.
  4. Call Grandma.
  5. Save $50 out of my paycheck and $10 out of Kevin’s.
  6. Take a photo of myself and five other photos including 1 of the pups.

I also have a few goals for this week outside of 365 in 365:

  1. Have a serious conversation with Kevin about moving to Florida.
  2. Do not buy anything that is not a necessity.  This includes Starbucks, lunch, dinner, etc. (Exception for planned dinner on Wednesday with family)
  3. Find recipe for monthly work snack and monthly new meal.
  4. Enjoy every day.  Find the good. Deal with the bad. End each day on a positive note.

That’s it for me today.  Life is what you make it…so let’s make it rock.  (Don’t hate me for that…)

What are your goals for this week?

11 thoughts on “You Have to Start Somewhere

  1. If you’re really into reading check out goodreads.com
    My page is http://www.goodreads.com/dozenroses13
    You can post reviews, mark books as “want to read” and that sort of thing.
    And make sure you take pictures of the pups. I want to see them 🙂
    Recipes are fun. I’ve thought about starting a FB group for posting good recipes….

    My Goals? I have some follow up phone calls to make this week for a couple jobs. That’s the big priority goal. I’m also learning how to optimally use my new phone. I’m sure it can do alot more than I realize. I also started a blog 🙂 Check it out.

    • I love to read. My biggest problem is there are 1,000 books I want to read and it always seems to get pushed to the back burner so I don’t read as much as I’d like. That’s why I made it one of my goals. I need to make it a priority instead of an afterthought. If I can get into, I’d love to start a Good Reads account to keep track of my reading. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Good luck with your goals this week. You and a few others are always in my mind for job openings. I love that you are blogging. I’m looking forward to reading more.

  2. I second Good Reads. Great way to keep track of books I have read/want to read, see what my friends are reading and discover new books. You can also integrate it with Facebook or use Facebook Connect to login.

    As for a work snack – I love this hummus recipe. It’s easy to make and you can eat it with carrots, celery, pita bread or pita chips, apples… yum!

    Good luck with your goals!

    • Thanks Amy! Integrating it with Facebook will help me keep track of it.

      I’m not a huge fan of hummus but I think my office would really like it and it’s different which is what I’m looking for. I appreciate the suggestion and thanks for commenting!

  3. It sounds like you are off to a great start. I admire the courage to not only do it, but to put it out on a public forum for everyone to see. I want to be more proactive like this, but I always fall flat on my face when I try. I am a major procrastinator, and put things off forever.

    My main goal is finding a job and getting back to work. Sitting around this house all day isn’t very motivating. I also started a blog, thanks to your inspiration. I will give that a go, and see if I can build a following. I will work on photography, as it is what I know and I have thousands of pics to use. So, from that aspect, it should be relatively easy. The text will be the tough part, but I will make it happen. A goal? Perhaps.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I started the blog because I need to be held accountable for my goals. I’ve always been afraid of putting myself out there and actually verbalizing my hopes and dreams because I don’t want others to know that I failed. Failure is a part of life though and every failure teaches us something new. I also know that there is a great community of people out there that will help to push me along.

      I love that you started a blog (and that I could be a part of that). I think you are a wonderful photographer and I really enjoy learning the stories behind your photos. I think it will be a great place for you to share those stories and share some new things that you are trying with your photography. I’m looking forward to reading more from you. I think I’m a terrible writer but I truly believe that if you have something to say or something to share, as long as it’s comprehensible, very few people will judge your writing.

      Keep up the blogging and thanks for the comment!

  4. It’s so funny how a public forum makes us feel accountable…well knowing that I had to review the book this week made me turn of Bones last night and finish it last night!

    Keep up the good work, sometimes it’s hard to blog, to find the words or to keep on track, but then again, there’s always inspiration for it somewhere…Today was my friend Molly.

    • Thanks for the encouragement and inspiration. It really is interesting how the accountability factor increases tenfold when you have to report to someone else.

      By the way, I love Bones. I have to start catching up on this season at some point.

      • Haha. I love “Bones”! There are so many of them on a night though that sometimes, turning it off has to be the answer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

