Supporting Our Troops

A Twitter friend posted a link a few weeks back to Let’s Say Thanks, a site that lets people personalize cards that are sent to our troops serving overseas.

From their web site:

The mission of Let’s Say Thanks is to provide a way for individuals across the country to recognize U.S. troops stationed overseas. By submitting a message through this site you have the opportunity to send a free personalized postcard greeting to deployed servicemen and women.

As part of my goal to send more cards, I’ve been visiting the site every day and sending a card.  It’s very easy to do and costs nothing.  You can choose from a list of messages or write your own.  The hardest part for me is picking out which one I want to send.

Everyone knows someone, in some way or another, that is in serving our country.  Personally, I have a cousin in the Air force, friends that are serving in Afghanistan and Iraq and many more friends that have served in the past in various branches of the military.  You don’t have to support the war to support our troops.  A simple thank you card can make a soldier’s day.  It reminds them that they are appreciated and we are always thinking about them.

Drop the link into your bookmarks and take 5-10 minutes every day to send a card.

4 thoughts on “Supporting Our Troops

  1. You, my dear, are awesome. I have a bunch of family members that served, and friends that are still serving in the military. A good friend’s son and another’s husband came back from Iraq this past summer and a few days before Christmas, respectively.

    Five to ten minutes out of your day could save someone’s life. I can’t imagine what they see over there and how bad it must be. A simple card may make their time over there a whole lot easier, or at least make them smile a little bit.

    Kudos to you.

    • *Blushing* Thanks! I have a friend that is on his second tour in Iraq and other friends who, over the past year, have come home from serving. I have family that could go at any time. I can’t imagine what they go through. If I can add a bright spot to their day by sending a card, then I think it’s worth my time.

Leave a Reply

