The Week That Was

It is hard for me to not focus on my failures so when I look at my list from last week, all I see is what I did not cross off but, I’m working on changing that.  So, if you revisit my post from last week, you’ll see stuff has been crossed off and that’s what I completed.  Looking at the list, I actually completed a lot and the things that I didn’t complete are a work in progress.  Here’s what I learned from week 1 based on what I didn’t complete:

Finish reading the book I’ve started and blog a short review

I started reading The Starbucks Experience and I just could not get into it.  I love Starbucks (see #18) and I think they have an awesome business model (although not practical for everyone) but, I just wasn’t in the mood for this book.  I’m not the type of person that can just pick up a book and read it.  I love to read but I have to be interested in what I’m reading or I’ll find something else to do.  I realized by Wednesday that I needed something different to read.  Based on Amy Mengel’s recommendation of The Road I had requested it from the library.  Thankfully, it had already come in and was ready for pick up.  So, since Thursday, I’ve been reading The Road.  I’m really enjoying it so far and will probably finish it tonight and start the next book which I plan to finish by Sunday.

Attend an exercise class

Attending and exercise class was a lot harder than I thought.  I knew where I wanted to go and what I wanted to take but wasn’t sure what the studio’s policy was on walk-ins.  I called and called and called and finally received an answer yesterday (Monday).  By Sunday, I had decided that I would just take an extra class this month…this week, next week, whenever, as long as it’s in January.

Take a photo of myself

Plain and simple, I couldn’t do it.  I’m not going to get into the details now but it’s something that I will do but need to work towards.

Enjoy every day.  Find the good. Deal with the bad. End each day on a positive note.

You’ll notice that this one is not crossed off but it’s not because I didn’t complete it.  I couldn’t cross this off because it’s an ongoing thing.  It’s not something that I can just do for a week, it’s a goal I need to work on every day.  I won’t be adding it to my 365 in 365 though because it’s not tangible.  It’s something that I will continue to work on every day but is more of a daily affirmation.

Other Things I Did This Week

I sent out some cards.

I started to plan January’s #AlbanyTweetUp and future tweetups.

I found a bunch of new cooking blogs that I added to my Google Reader and a ton of recipes that I want to try – including my new meal for the month and my work snack.  Plus, I joined Rose’s Recipe Group so I can share what I know and what I learn.

I planned a night out with Mom with some help from Kelly.  We’ll be going to dinner and a play at the end of the month.

In the end…

In the end, I didn’t do so bad this week.  It’s still hard for me to accept my failures but that’s what this is about.  I need to push my limits, set my goals and just go for it.

So, what did you do this week?  What did you accomplish and what are you working towards?  Let me know in the comments and thank you for all the support.  I have a ton of ideas and a bunch of stuff I want to talk about and I hope you will stick with me and share your experiences.  If you didn’t get a chance last week, check out two posts I put up that have a special importance to me:  Supporting Our Troops and Finding Inspiration

The journey is the reward. – Chinese Proverb

13 thoughts on “The Week That Was

  1. You’re good to not cross of your “Enjoy every day….” because you’re right, it’s something you should do every day 🙂
    If you ever need help with planning Tweetups, let Michael and I know.
    What exactly is Google Reader?
    Thanks for pimping the recipe group 🙂 I’m hoping to post a few more recipes soon, but we need to try them first to make sure they’re worthy 🙂
    Do you know what setting you hit to get your “site previews” to show up when you hover over one of your links? I don’t think that happens on my page. I need to find a new font I think. I think it’s hard to tell where the links are in my posts.
    I didn’t accomplish a ton this past week, but I’ve done quite a bit this morning as I’m sure Michael tweeted 🙂 I started a new book last night – The Lovely Bones. I ordered a bunch of books about blogging from the library, hopefully something in one of them will inspire something 🙂

    • Google Reader is basically a way to subscribe to blogs. It’s an easy way to store all the blogs that you read and it updates automatically when they post new stuff.

      I’ll look to see what the setting is to allow visual previews and I’ll let you know.

      The Lovely Bones is a great book. Did you see that they made it into a movie?

  2. First, let me say congrats on trying to better yourself. You’re off to a great start.

    Is the photo of you a photo you need to take? A head shot? I happen to know a guy that has a camera, a backdrop and some studio lights, in need of practice for portrait shots..just sayin’

    I am also pretty excited about January’s Tweetup! Can’t wait to see everyone since I missed the last one.

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. Everything wont come together all at once. You’ve made goals for yourself, but it’s going to take some time to get a system set up. Keep your head up. You can do this.

    • Thanks, Michael!

      The photo is supposed to be a weekly self portrait. It’s something that is just for me to visually keep track of my progress in toning up and slimming down. It’s something that I have to do for myself but need to work up to doing and I’ll explain why in the future. However, I have wanted some professional head shots done and may need the help of that guy that you know. 😉

      • Let me know. I will ask him when he is free. HEHE. As for the self portrait, does it have to be you in a mirror or in front of the camera? If you saw my blog on my bike, you will see that having fun with it makes it not so bad. Personally, I absolutely hate having my picture taken. Kind of ironic, I guess, but I do. I can never smile, always flip off the camera or do something stupid. Maybe it’s a comfort thing. Catch your picture in something reflective. Make it fun. it will take some of the pressure off you until you are comfortable with it.

  3. I was checking on the blog right before I received this post in my inbox and saw that some of the things were crossed off the list…

    I know what you mean about not being into a book. I have been reading Team of Rivals for two years. It is good but not captivating and I keep picking up other things – a *lot* of other things. Keep working on reading every day or as often as you can. I laugh when people comment that I am a voracious reader because I had to force myself to read every day and now it is a luxury I cherish.

    You accomplished a lot of great things last week!

    • I have probably about four books that I’ve been reading for two years now. It’s not that I don’t want to read them or that they are horribly boring, I just have to be in the mood to read them. I used to devour books when I was in school. Then I hit college and I was always reading my textbooks and never had time to read what I wanted. I want to get back into reading things that I want to read.

      Thanks for the encouragement, T!

  4. Here’s the thing. You didn’t fail. It didn’t get done because other stuff needed to get done. “Fail” is such a negative word and I find it makes it hard to be positive when one uses negative language.

    A few things I’ve allowed myself over the years:
    1. I don’t have to finish every book I start. If I don’t like the first third of the book, don’t bother reading the rest.

    2. I can only do so much. The rest will have to wait. If it doesn’t directly relate to my paycheck or happiness at the moment it can wait. (I struggle with this sometimes.)

    3. I pay myself a compliment (in writing) every day and I look at myself in the mirror and say, “Body, we can be better, but you are strong and today xyz looks fantastic.” (Last resort? My eyes or toes, both are great!)

    I’m not really one of those out there hippies, but I bet I could be if I tried.

    • You’re right, fail is a very strong, negative word. I think I’m past the “fail” and ok saying that I didn’t complete everything that I set out to do but I did a lot of great things. You make some really great points though. I think we could all step back and give ourselves one compliment a day.

      I think you would make quite the hippie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

