An Explanation and an Apology

I won’t bore you with the details but the past couple of weeks have been hectic, crazy, tiring, and emotionally draining.  They have been filled with sever ups and downs.  I was being pulled in 18 different directions and I was being stretched very thin.  For the most part, I am extremely good at bottling up my emotions and moving on.  I deal with my emotions but, try to do it when the time is appropriate.  With that being said, I owe you all an explanation and an apology, particularly if you follow me on Twitter.

Side note:  There will be no names used in this post.  This isn’t a callout, it’s an explanation, an apology and hopefully an end to something ridiculous.

The weekend before last I wrote a post about why I do the Albany Tweetups.  It was about what they mean to me and why I continue to put the time, effort and money into organizing them…not about how I did it first.  Here’s a little back story…

In December a woman who runs a local marketing company put together her own tweetup in Albany.  Her tweetup was more formal and business focused than the ones that I put together.  There was even a seminar prior to the networking portion about how to use Twitter.  It happened to be right around the same time that we were having our regular Albany Tweetup.  There really is no problem, what-so-ever with that.

The problem arose because we were both using the same hashtag (#AlbanyTweetup) and if you searched for it, you found a huge amount of tweets that could make distinguishing the two events difficult.  I tweeted from the @TweetUpAlbany account, which I use solely to promote tweetups, that we were not involved in that event just so there would be some clarification.  There was a lot of behavior that could be considered “spammy” but I’m not trying to point fingers here…to each their own.

After I tweeted about the difference between the events, the other party retweeted something that I never said which made it look like I supported her event.  A slight disagreement ensued on Twitter.  My point was that it was inappropriate to retweet something I never said and to then spam the hashtag.  The other person’s argument was that they used the hashtag first.  My reply “I don’t give a sh** who used it first. That’s not the point.”

To make a long story short, there were words exchanged.  Things got out of hand and I just threw my hands up in the air and blocked a few people.  I was done and that’s the glory of social media…if I don’t want to see you online, I don’t have to.

I was pretty sure the whole thing was gone with 2009.  Like I said, to each their own…you go your way, I’ll go mine.  That was until last Monday when I saw this:

@[redacted] Read re-writing of #AlbanyTweetup history yet? We had Albany 1st Tweetup, used hashtag first, but: http://bit.ly/54kUXG lol!

Fine…whatever.  At first glance it looks like someone who just doesn’t get it and never will.  I can deal with that and would prefer to ignore it.  However, that link goes to the post I wrote about the Albany Tweetups.  Now it’s personal.

This was the straw that broke the camel’s back…the thing that pushed me over the edge.  The comment that made me go on a Twitter rant…

There’s a certain point that things get taken too far and those that want to lay claim on the #AlbanyTweetUp have done just that. 8:13 PM Jan 18th from UberTwitter

My post on why I do the #AlbanyTweetUp was completely personal & not part of the stupid pissing match that some would like to think it is. 8:15 PM Jan 18th from UberTwitter

You’re “lol” and whatever history of the hashtag you come up with mean NOTHING to me or anyone. It’s quality not quantity. Figure it out. 8:16 PM Jan 18th from UberTwitter

I’m not addressing you because it’s not worth my time. I blocked you both a long time ago. You do your thing & I’ll do mine. #AlbanyTweetUp 8:17 PM Jan 18th from UberTwitter

Your childish bullshit is getting old & obnoxious. Before I would have loved for you to come & see why we have fun. #AlbanyTweetUp 8:20 PM Jan 18th from UberTwitter

Now, please don’t ever consider coming to anything that I plan. Obviously you don’t get the point. You took it too far. #AlbanyTweetUp 8:21 PM Jan 18th from UberTwitter

And for that, I truly apologize…not to the person/people I was addressing but to everyone else.  I should not have done that on Twitter and really should have let it go.  It just hit a nerve and I was off.  Again, my sincerest apologies.

Here’s my point (you thought I would never get here, didn’t you?); I put everything I can into the Albany Tweetup because, in a way, they have been a life line for me.  Maybe I wasn’t personal enough in my post about them but the friendships and connections I’ve made through them are invaluable to me.  I can’t thank everyone enough for coming and making it a night that I look forward to.  So, I don’t care who used the hashtag first.  I don’t care if someone else uses it for their own.  I care about the experience that I create and the people that I meet and taking the time to enjoy the company of those that are there.

Final note: I know that was a long and tedious post…my apologies for that, too.  I just needed to get it out and hopefully it’s the end of it all.  No mean comments please…about me or anyone else.  Character bashing gets us no where.

See you all on Thursday!!

7 thoughts on “An Explanation and an Apology

  1. Hugs sweetie. Don’t feel like you need to apologize for this. Someone else has taken what you’ve worked hard for and basterdized it for their own. Those of us who know you and what it means/how much fun they are are here for you.

    Thank you for putting so much into them.

    • You’re so sweet! I know I don’t have to apologize but I try to keep it together and felt bad for subjecting everyone to my rant. I’m so thankful for everyone that comes to them and feel very fortunate to have made some great friends (like you) through them. Thank you!

  2. Please don’t feel like you need to apologize to us about this. This was ridiculous and was blown way out of proportion. She used the hashtag with the intent of profiting, and that is not what the Tweetups are supposed to be about.

    What really bothers me, and you may not see this because you blocked them, is that her cohort is re-tweeting the Sushi Tweetup like nothing ever happened. WTF? Are you serious?

    Don’t let this get you down. She did all the damage she needed to when she ran her mouth in the Biz Review. I am sure she has felt a backlash from that debacle. You are doing a great job, and we really enjoy the Tweetups. Thank you.

    • I’m not apologizing for what I said because I’m not sorry for that. I’m apologizing because I should have handled it differently. You’re right, it was blown way out of proportion.

      The other woman, who is not directly involved in this but kind of got dragged in has apologized and I think she really does mean it. I don’t blame her for it because in reality, she had nothing to do with it. It think she’s between a rock and hard place but that’s her deal, not mine and I’d prefer to just move on from it all.

      Thanks for the encouragement and support, always!

  3. Ah, yes. The Social Networking Pioneer and her friend, the publicist who doesn’t leave her couch and is damn proud of it.

    Can we extend the invite back to them? I’d really love to see a seminar on how to use Twitter from unemployed faux marketers who clearly does not know how to use Twitter.

    PS As a disclaimer, you really do have to leave your house and do professional things like meet people in person to be an effective publicist.

  4. Ah, yes. The Social Networking Pioneer and her friend, the publicist who doesn’t leave her couch and is damn proud of it.

    Can we extend the invite back to them? I’d really love to see a seminar on how to use Twitter from unemployed faux marketers who clearly do not know how to use Twitter.

    PS As a disclaimer, you really do have to leave your house and do professional things like meet people in person to be an effective publicist.

  5. Like Michael said, no apologies are necessary….
    You do a great job with the AlbanyTweetUp’s and I hope you continue to do so. And you know what they say “Success is the best revenge” so let’s go forward and have wonderful Tweetups filled with fun and friendships. That’s what it’s all about anyway! See you soon! {HUGS}

Leave a Reply

