The Road

Book one in my series of 52 books in 52 weeks was “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy.  I had heard many good things about this book and, although it is not the type of book I usually read, I decided to give it a shot.

I was not really familiar with Cormac McCarthy’s work.  I was aware of some of the books he has written and that a few of his books had been made into well-known movies but, that was about it.  After reading the synopsis of”The Road” I honestly wasn’t sure about it.

“The Road” was mildly confusing at first – there are no chapters and there is no explanation as to what is going on.  Having read the summary, I knew the premise but, if I had just picked up the book and started reading it would be a little odd.  However, I became imersed in the story.  I had to know where they were going and what was going to happen.  The passages are so beautifully crafted that it is easy to picture the seen and see the boy and his father traveling down the road with their cart.

In the end, I was disappointed.  There were many pointes where I felt the story line begin to climax and it was almost to that tipping point but then it would fall short.  Would I still recommend the book?  Absolutly.  The imagry and alone makes the book worth reading and, at a little over 200 pages, it is a short read.  I think you will find that it is worth your time.  Even though I was disappointed, the story will likely stick with me for awhile.

Recently, “The Road” was made into a movie starring Viggo Mortensen and Charlize Theron.  I will be renting it when it comes out on DVD.  The descriptions of the seens were so well written that I’m interested to see how it was translated to the screen.

One down, fifty-one to go.  To see what I’ve read, am reading or wamt to read, visit my Goodreads profile and feel free to friend me there.

3 thoughts on “The Road

  1. I think it’s funny that such a big name as Charlize Theron would sign on for a film like this. I’m guessing they’ll have her play the boys mother who appeared so slightly throughout the book….

    I probably wouldn’t have read this book so soon, as I too have tons of books on the pile, but having heard it mentioned so many times recently, when I saw it on the recommended shelf at the library by the check out desk I figured I’d grab it….

Leave a Reply

