La Bella Vita

I was going to title this blog “Inbox – 215” but I think that gives it a negative conotation and this is anything but a negative post.

Yesterday two friends and I exchanged 215 email throughout the day.  There must have been 20 random topics but, it kept us entertained and made the day go by faster than normal.

During my drive home I was thinking about what a ridiculous number of emails that was.  I don’t think I’ve exchanged 215 emails with anyone…let alone in one day.  I don’t know if I’ve ever had that much to talk about before or that I even wanted to email anyone that much.  Anyway…thinking about this made me reflect on the past few years and I realized something very important.

Three Years Ago

Three years ago this week I was in the midst of ending a horrible relationship.  I won’t go into the sorrid details but it was a toxic relationship that lasted for two years and was about a year and a half too long.  For the past two years I’ve celebrated the day it ended as my own “Independence Day.”  It was the celebration of having my life back and being able to breath again.  This year…I simply forgot.

For the past three years, I’ve had to rebuild my life.  My relationship with one person took a toll on my relationships with many people.  It took a toll on my finances, on my self-esteem and on my sanity.  For three years, I have worked tirelessly to right the wrongs that were done.  Most of all I’ve worked to rebuild myself to someone that I was proud of again.  Today, I finally realized that I’ve completed that goal.

What 215 Emails Have To Do With It…

While thinking about the emails and the events of the past few months, I couldn’t help but think how absolutely blessed I am to have so many amazing people in my life.  Three years ago I walked away from a relationship with one friend and my dog.  Today I still have that one friend and my dog but I can add at least 15 more friends to that list.  Three years ago, I felt alone and like the shell of a person.  Today, I feel full and happy and complete thanks to the friendships that I have.

This year, I forgot my anniversary because it wasn’t necessary anymore.  I don’t need to celebarate being me becaue I’m happy with me and can celebrate it every day. That has everything to do with the people that have come into my life and that I am surrounded by every day.  I am proud of the person that I am and can say that I am a good person because I have good friends that make me that way.

Each and every friend that has come into my life over the past three years has helped bring me to this point.  You have all added something to my life…something that I carry with me every day.  Whether you know it or not, you have all helped me become a whole person again, to realize my worth and make me feel good about being me again.  And for that, I thank you.

I’ll leave you with this…on the bulletin board above my desk I have a piece of paper that says

Gli amici sono la famiglia si sceglie

which means “Friends are the family you choose.”  I have chosen a wonderful family and thank you for choosing me.

10 thoughts on “La Bella Vita

  1. I wasn’t there three years ago, but I went through my own version and wish to congratulate you on the hard work I know goes into finding the new you.

    You should celebrate yourself every day.

    • Thank you. 🙂 We all deserve the best and to be happy with ourselves. You are a fabulous person and I hope you celebrate yourself every day too. Thank you for being am awesome friend.

  2. I had to have a family intervention to get me out of a toxic relationship. A serious, come to the office conference room and have the talk intervention. My boss was there, colleagues and family. Hooray for all of us and choosing an amazing family of friends!

      • It did. You needed to come to crisis first, then find the strength within yourself to claw your way back out. And you did. Some of us who were there before and are still here have been watching for three years, first in fear, then in hope, then in joy and pride. Joyous anniversary. May you continue to recognize where healing needs to happen and use that strength to follow through.

  3. I want to know who the psychotic people are who would exchange 215 emails with you? Next thing ur gonna tell me is that u exchanged over 3000 texts with someone. Ur a crazy girl, Cassie!

    In line w what ur mom says, everything that happens brings us where we are. I dont look back at anything in regret. Just be thankful you are where are u are. I know I am 🙂

    • First, you’re driving me crazy with the “ur” stuff. Second, keep agreeing with my mother and you won’t be allowed to comment anymore. [Kidding!]

      Anyway, I’ve always believed that everything that happens, happens for a reason. Whether it be to set us on a new course or teach us a much needed lesson, there is a reason behind it. I don’t regret anything that I’ve done or that has happened for that reason.

      I am very thankful for where I am today.

Leave a Reply

