Rise and Shine

Less than two years ago, I would wake up at 4am, drive the the gym, do an hour of cardio and a half hour of weights, shower, get dressed and get to work by 8am.  I never had a problem waking up and getting out of bed.

After almost eight months of this routine, I hurt my knee (again) and had to take a break from going to the gym.  I was off for a couple of weeks until my knee healed but, for some reason I wasn’t able to get back into my routine.  I ended up going to the gym after work and getting discouraged.  It’s loud, crowded and I was already tired from work.

Ever since I stopped getting up so early, I’ve turned into one of those “I’m not a morning person” people.  If the suns isn’t up, I don’t want to be up.  If the sun is up, I just want five more minutes.  It’s been a downward slope into morning sleepy head syndrome.

As part of my 101 in 1001, I made a goal of becoming a morning person again.  I know I can do it, I just need to work at it.  My plan is to start making a plan – bed time, wake time, gym time, work time, yoga time, friend/family time, etc.  That’s how it used to work so, I’m hoping it will work again.

That will all start next week.  For now, I’m totally milking every moment of sleep.

6 thoughts on “Rise and Shine

  1. Man, I’ve never been a morning person… Although I kinda always wished I was. Doesn’t help that I have a flexible schedule at work and can mosey in just about whenever I want. Maybe I’ll use this as inspiration to try it myself… Same sort of thing, get my ass out of bed early, go work out, do the rest of my day normally. Then again, maybe I’m just gonna end up as lazy as usual… we’ll see.

  2. I really admire your spirit on this. I have no excuse not to get back into the gym routine, but I always find a reason why I don’t go. Good luck with this. I have also gone from a wake up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed to hitting snooze and sleeping for a while longer. It’s a tough habit to break.

    • Thanks Michael. It’s going to be rough…especially for the first week or so but, I’m confident that I can get back into a routine. I think that’s the biggest part – the scheduling and routine. We’ll see how it works out.

  3. I’m having the same problem! I used to be up at 5:30 every morning before the kids and today I dragged myself out of bed at 8:30. And I’m starting to stay up later at night which makes it harder to get up in the morning and it’s just a vicious cycle.

    Good luck with your routine! Maybe it will inspire me. We should call each other out on twitter/facebook in the morning. 😉

    • Haha. We can post an “I’m awake” tweet in the morning. 😉 That vicious cycle is my problem – I’ve gone from being up early and going to bed at a reasonable time to getting up late and staying up late.

Leave a Reply

