Freeing My Mind: Question 1

As part of my 101 in 1001, I decided to answer the “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind” which can be found here.  Although I’m skeptical, my mind could use some freeing and I’m up for trying.

Question 1:  How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

I’m not going to lie, I was kind of confused by this question…probably not a good start but, I’m confused by lots of things.  To make sense of the question, I made up a story in which I was born but, had no idea when so, I had to make up an age for myself.

If I had to make up an age for myself at this present moment, I would say that I was 25.  In reality, I’m 23 swiftly approaching 24 (30 days and counting).  To say that I am 25 seems logical to me.  While I’m always told I look much younger than I am – I’ve been carded at rated R movies and asked to prove my age by the mall guards – I’m always told that I think and act much older.

I don’t disagree with either point.  I think I’m starting to look my age but, in jeans and a t-shirt I look like I’m 19 at the oldest.  I’ve always had a much easier time relating and conversing with people who are older than me though.  Some of my greatest friends are 5-10 years older than me while only a couple them are my age.

I think a lot of this comes from the fact that I experienced many things at a younger age than most.  I’ve also been very career focused since my early days of employment.  I remember being 14 and wanting to apply for a job but, my mom was resistant because I was young and had school and extra curricular activities to worry about.  I really wanted a job though and ended up being a page at the local library.  When I was in college, I took on a strenuous professional position because I valued the real life experience.  I could see what it would do for me in the future and I didn’t really want to mess that up by partying or acting like a twenty year old fool.

Don’t get me wrong, I believe that everyone shows their true age at points but, I try to keep that to a minimum.  I am always learning and growing, both professionally and personally, and my age will always be a factor in that process.

Back to the question at hand, if I didn’t know what age I was, I would tell people I was 25 and I think that would be believable.  It would also mean that I could stop hearing astonished remarks on how young I am when someone finds out my true age.

Your turn:  How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

2 thoughts on “Freeing My Mind: Question 1

  1. That’s a really tough question. In a lot of ways I don’t feel like I’m 30 at all but in some ways I feel it very much. I’d like to be 25 again with what I know now, only because I know how much time was wasted in the last 5 years and time isn’t for wasting – if that makes sense?

Leave a Reply

