Chicken Sautéed With Apples & Onions

On Sunday, I decided to try a new recipe that I found on Real Simple Magazine’s website.  Originally, I was going to count it towards my goal of two new recipes a month but, it’s pretty similar to a recipe I already make with pork chops and the point of that goal is to extend myself a little.  It was good and it works well for the season so, I wanted to share it with you guys.  I made a few adjustments from the original recipe so, below is my recipe with a link to the original.

Chicken Sautéed with Apples & Onions

Original recipe from Real Simple

Ingredients

  • 6 thinly-sliced chicken breasts
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 apples – I used gala apples but braeburn or granny smith would work well, too.
  • 1 1/2 cups apple cider
  • 2 small to medium Spanish onions
  • 1 teaspoon oregano or thyme
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • Your choice of seasoning for the chicken breast

Directions

  1. Season your thinly sliced chicken breast.  I used a mixture of salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and a dash of cayenne pepper.
  2. Core and quarter the apples.  Slice them into pieces about a 1/2 inch thick.
  3. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat and saute the chicken until golden, about 2 minutes per side. Add the apple slices, apple cider, onion, oregano/thyme, and a pinch of salt. Cover and simmer 6 to 8 minutes or until the chicken is fork-tender.
  4. Remove the chicken, apple slices, and onion to a serving platter and keep warm.
  5. Bring the sauce to a boil for about 5 minutes or until slightly reduced. Whisk in the mustard. Pour the sauce over the chicken and serve.

This recipe is super easy to make.  I over cooked the chicken a little because I wasn’t watching the time so, don’t be like me.  You can cut back the amount of apple cider, too if you don’t want too much juice.  I wouldn’t use less than a cup though.  We had rice pilaf and a salad on the side and I thought it worked really well.  If you decide to try it, let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

