Freeing My Mind: Question 3

As part of my 101 in 1001, I decided to answer the “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind” which can be found here.  Although I’m skeptical, my mind could use some freeing and I’m up for trying.

Question 3:  If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

I’ll start with this…I kind of hate this question.  It makes it seem like, in life we have the choice to always do what we want and never do anything else without any type of penalty or consequence.  That’s not how it works.  Anyway….

I’ve thought a lot about this question because I don’t believe that we can like things that we haven’t done.  It may sound fun and sound like something that we might like but, how can you know if you’ve never actually done it.

As for doing so many things we don’t like…well, that’s simple.  We have to live.  Not everything in life is going to be enjoyable and you don’t always have a choice when put into a situation.  Unless you’re a total hermit and out of touch with any kind of society, then, you have to deal with other people.  Other people can create a situation that is not your idea.  Also, even in doing things that we like, there’s going to be a part that we don’t like.

Life is about making the most of what you’re given.  If we liked everything we did and never did anything we didn’t like, how would we actually know what we didn’t like?

Leave a Reply

