Crack Brownies

I found this recipe for Better-Than-Crack Brownies on Tasty Kitchen a few weeks ago.  The whole thing seemed ridiculous and delicious but, a bit of a dessert overkill.  I’m not a huge fan of chocolate so, while it looked good, I definitely needed to make them when I had an opportunity to share.  That opportunity came in the form of a meeting at work.

The recipe was super simple to make yet, I managed to mess it up.  In my defense, it was kind of late and…um…well that’s all I’ve got.  Here’s the recipe straight from HowSweetEats on Tasty Kitchen.

Ingredients

  • 1 box (18.25 Oz. Box) Brownies
  • Additional Required Ingredients Specified In Mix Package (typically Water, Eggs And Oil)
  • ½ cups Salted Peanuts
  • 1 cup Chopped Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • 1-½ cup Milk Chocolate Chips
  • 1-½ cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • ½ Tablespoons Butter
  • 1-½ cup Rice Krispie Cereal

Preparation Instructions

Mix brownies according to directions (you’ll typically need water, eggs, and oil, as directed in mix package), andbake for 20-25 minutes in a 9 x 13 baking dish.

Remove and top with peanuts and peanut butter cups, and bake for 4-6 minutes more.

While they are finishing baking, melt chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter. Stir in cereal. Remove brownies from oven and evenly pour chocolate mixture over the top.

Refrigerate for 2 hours before serving.

I was good with everything until the Rice Krispies.  I was melting the chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter in a pot over medium-low heat and it turned into this awesome, tasty looking sauce and I got totally distracted and poured it over the brownies without adding the cereal.  It wasn’t until the brownies had been in the fridge for over an hour that I realized I forgot the cereal.

The brownies still came out great but, they were super peanut butter and chocolaty.  I think the addition of the cereal would have broken up that sweetness a bit and I probably would have enjoyed them more.  For someone like me that isn’t a big on chocolate it was a bit overpowering.

With that being said, here’s a few notes I would add:

  • Don’t forget the Rice Krispies (obviously)
  • Unless you finely chop the Peanut Butter Cups, 1 cup isn’t really going to cut it.  I would double the amount of peanuts and Peanut Butter Cups.
  • Fudgy brownies probably weren’t the best choice.  I think a cake-like brownie would work best.
  • Check to make sure the brownies are cooked through before pouring on the melted topping.

Have fun making them and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

