Oh the Weather

…outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful.”

Yesterday was the first official snow of the season in upstate New York. Ick.  That’s about all I have to say about that…just ick.  Anyway, it forced me to think about the upcoming holidays and how I should start planning for them.  Mostly, I need to start planning gifts and spending.

This is always ridiculously stressful for me because I want to put something for everyone but, don’t want to spend a ridiculous amount of money.  I always end up buying (and spending) more than I intend of gifts for people.  This year, I’m going to try my hardest not to do that.

I was wondering if anyone had some tips or tricks, though.  How do you avoid overspending on gifts?  Do you make a plan or set aside a certain amount of money and just stick with it?  I need some help here because when it comes to giving gifts, I’m a spending machine.

One thought on “Oh the Weather

  1. There’s a group of six of us that have been doing Christmas Eve together for the last five years now. We all get each other one gift, usually well below $40 spent on each other, and we just get each other what we want. It’s much more about the company than the gifts, so I’m pretty sure if we said no more gifts people wouldn’t complain.

    For my family, I stick with the one gift per person rule, but my mother/aunt/grandmother/mother-in-law don’t come anywhere close to obeying that wish. They’re fine with my only getting them all one thing too.

    I usually spend around $300 a year on presents. No idea how that racks up with everyone else around me.

Leave a Reply

