I Didn’t Catch Fire But I Did Run Into A Wall

Mom and I got into DC pretty late on Friday night…somewhere around 11pm to be specific.  Needless to say, we headed straight for bed when we got to the hotel.  The next day we were up fairly early and ready to explore DC.  Our first stop was my cousin Tori’s apartment.  She’s a college student and lives in DC.  We picked her up and headed to the National Cathedral.

After the Cathedral we headed to the Old Post Office Pavilion for our bike tour of the monuments.  The tour seemed like a fun way to see all the monuments and we would have a guide to give us some history about them.

One of the first things they told us was that we had to wear a helmet.  Neither of us was thrilled but, it turned out to be a good thing.  The guide fitted us with our bikes and told us to test them out to make sure the seat height was good.

Mom got on her bike, rode about 7 feet and fell off.  I’m not ashamed to say I laughed.  I didn’t take a picture though.  Karma wasn’t on my side because our tour started and we had to ride through two polls kind of close together and I was too busy calculating the space between the polls to realize that I was about to ride right into a wall.  Which I did.  And I laughed…along with everyone who saw me.

The only other real tragedy of the bike tour is realizing how rude people are.  People don’t like to share the sidewalk and in one case, tried to make someone fall off their bike.  That didn’t ruin it though.  We had a great time and learned some new stuff.

Did you know there’s an Albert Einstein monument?  Well, there is one and if you stand in that spot where Mom is standing and talk to Albert, it creates and echo that only you can hear.  Pretty cool.

The tour took a little over three hours and was well worth the $40 per person.  Bike and Roll is the company that runs the tours and it’s the second time I’ve rented a bike from them.

Mom and I were exhausted after the ride and a little sore but, it felt good.  We headed back to the car and then back to the hotel.  Mom knew of this great restaurant near our hotel but, couldn’t remember the name so we did a little searching before going back to the hotel and found it about 2 blocks away.  The place is called Nage and it’s in the Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row.  We had a wonderful dinner there and then it was time to crash.  We had to prepare for the zoo and the long drive home the next day.

You can see a bunch more of my photos on Facebook.  If we’re not friends yet, let me know.

One thought on “I Didn’t Catch Fire But I Did Run Into A Wall

  1. I was at the National Cathedral while they were building it. I remember there was a building out back where you could watch them sand blasting the gargoyles and I thought that was pretty cool to watch.

    I had to laugh – near the end you wrote “We had a wonderful dinner there and then it was time to crash.”
    Haha – you already crashed! LOL! Glad you’re okay enough to tell the tale. Bike accidents can be pretty bad sometimes. Being able to laugh about it now is a good sign 🙂

    I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

