On Time & Over Budget

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I was planning out my Christmas shopping and that I needed to decided on gifts and a budget.  Well, that kind of happened.

I ended up deciding what my budget would be based on the gifts that I wanted to buy for people.  Probably not the best way to go about it but, I’m going to look on the positive side here.

Positive #1: I had two big (read: the most expensive) gifts to buy.  One of them was on sale the weekend after Thanksgiving and, thanks to some thoughtful saving on my part, I was able to take advantage of the sale.

Positive #2: The second big gift that I was buying was never going to be on sale and would be hard to find.  I found what I needed Thanksgiving weekend and, again thanks to thoughtful saving, I was able to buy that before it was gone.

Positive #3: The most expensive and most important gifts are bought, shipped and will be here this week.

Positive #4: I didn’t have to pay for shipping.  Thank you holiday specials and Amazon Prime.

Positive #5: This Christmas will be spectacular.  I put a lot of thought into the gifts that I bought for the most important people in my life and I know they will be surprised…hopefully wonderfully surprised.

Positive #6: I will be spending Christmas with the people I love and was able to buy them what I wanted to buy them.  Due to various factors, this hasn’t always been the case in the past.  I’m really proud of this and I’m really looking forward to it.

So, I only have a few smaller gifts to buy like stocking stuffers, a secret Santa gift, office goodies and hostess presents.  I also have some baking to do but, I need to decide what I’m making and who gets what.  And, for the first time in forever, I will be done with Christmas shopping well before Christmas.  Who the heck am I?

Disclaimer:  I used to loath people that bragged about being done with Christmas shopping well before the holiday but, now I know why they did.  It feels amazing.  I’m totally on your side though if you’re not even close to done or haven’t started…I’ve been there…for 23 years.

Leave a Reply

