Finding a New Gym

I need to get back into the routine of working out and eating healthier.  I felt so much better when I was doing those things and I’ve gotten off track, back on track and off track again. So, with the new year coming, I decided I need to make a commitment to get back on track and be completely serious about it.

I know I need to set myself up for success though.  This means not committing to anything serious before the holidays.  I like to enjoy the holidays and I refuse to worry about consistently exercising and eating healthy during them.  Let me have my fun.

However, I can start setting things up for myself now and gradually work back to a routine and that’s what I’m doing.  The first step was to explore new gyms.

I’ve been a member of Planet Fitness for a few years and liked it but, I’ve been substituting their lack of classes with (semi-expensive) yoga and pilates classes.  I did some research online and took a few tours and settled on the Ciccotti Center in Colonie.  It’s very close to work, the staff was super friendly and they have a good variety of classes and other offerings.  The price wasn’t exactly what I was looking for but, I’m not locked in to a contract and can suspend my membership with notice.

I’ve been going about twice a week for a month now and it’s been great.  They have a variety of cardio machines (with individual tvs) and I’ve never had to wait for one.  The walking/running track is great.  I’ve been able to try some of the classes and the instructors are encouraging as well as the class “regulars.”  They offer two free sessions with a trainer as part of your membership.  I plan to schedule my first one soon (for a date in January) so I can get on a regular workout plan.

So, step one was easy…step two, not so much.  We’ll get to that on Monday, though.

 

Leave a Reply

