A Tasty Holiday Snack

When I was little my church had a winter bazaar.  It was just a bunch of different booths selling stuff from crafts to antiques to baked goods.  Every year one of the church members made something called “puppy chow” for the bake sale and I thought it was the greatest thing ever.  I would always use my allowance money to buy a couple bags…one for now and a few for later.

Puppy chow is Chex with chocolate and peanut butter inside covered with powdered sugar.  I was convinced that it must have taken forever to get the chocolate and peanut butter inside the Chex.  Now that I’m older, I’ve figured out that puppy chow is actually super easy to make.  You can find the recipe on the back of most boxes of Rice Chex but, I’ve tweaked it a bit based on my refined palette for puppy chow.

Here’s what you will need…

1 Box of Rice Chex (the large one…about 9 cups)

3/4 cup of Peanut Butter

1 cup of Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (6oz bag)

1/3 cup of Milk Chocolate Chips

1/4 cup of butter (cut into smaller slices)

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 1/2 cups of Confectioners’ Sugar

Large Ziploc Bag

Here’s what you do…

Put the semi-sweet chocolate chips, peanut butter, milk chocolate chips and butter (in that order*) in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave on high for 1 minute.  Remove from microwave and use a small whisk to stir.  Return to microwave for another 30 seconds at a time until mixture can be easily poured. (Do not try to be cool and do this in a double boiler or in a sauce pan.  It just doesn’t work for this.  Believe me…I’ve tried.)

Pour your Rice Chex into a large bowl.  Pour the chocolate-peanut butter mixture over the Chex and mix.  Keep mixing until all the Chex are covered in the mixture.

Pour half your confectioners’ sugar in the Ziploc bag and then add the Chex.  Pour the rest of the confectioners’ sugar over the top of the Chex.  Seal and shake until the Chex are mostly covered.

Return Chex to the mixing bowl and toss it around a few times to cover any remaining pieces.  Store in the refrigerator in a sealed container or bag.

*It doesn’t necessarily have to be in that order but, I do it that way because I think it helps the ingredients blend together better when melting.  I’m crazy though and slightly OCD so, that’s totally your call.

Puppy chow is really easy to make and a delicious snack that you can put together quickly for the holidays.  Give it a try and make sure you save some to share with others.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Tasty Holiday Snack

Leave a Reply

