Coconut Bars

Way back on May 21, derryX and I attended an awesome potluck put together by the lovely Albany Jane.  Since I’m a dessert girl, I decided to make a platter of three bars – Congo Bars, S’mores Bars and Coconut Bars.

The actual plan had been to make at least 4 different types of bars which, under normal circumstances, would be a piece of cake for me.  On this particular weekend, though, something happened and my plan didn’t more out. I honestly have no idea what happened. I think it was something about working and starting late and whatever.  All I remember is making bars at 11pm and being exhausted.  So, in the end, I ended up with three types of bars that I cut into bite size pieces and arranged on a nice platter for the party. It turned out well but, I was a little disappointed in my performance.

Anyway…the bars that turned out the best were the coconut bars that I made.  I used a recipe from Fat Witch Brownies which I had picked up at the library a couple months before.  I made some slight modifications to the recipe but, being tired and all, followed it for the most part.  I definitely have an idea for modifying them a bit more that I will try when I’m more away and in the new apartment.

You can check out a picture of my platter o’ bars on Albany Jane’s post.  Here’s the recipe that I used to make them:

Coconut Bars

From Fat Witch Brownies

Crust

10 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature

1 1/4 cups unbleached flour

1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons packed light brown sugar

Topping

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk

1 tablespoon unbleached flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Pinch of Cinnamon

2 cups shredded sweetened coconut

Directions

Grease an 8″x8″ baking pan with butter. Dust with flour and shake out the excess. Preheat the oven to 350F.

To make the crust, mix the butter, flour and brown sugar in a large bowl. Once combined, knead with your heads.  Spread the dough evenly in the bottom of the prepared baking pan, flattening with your fingers.  Bake for 10 minutes or until the crust is light golden.  Remove from the oven and set aside to cool.

Beat both the sugars, eggs and vanilla until well combined.  Add the condensed milk and blend thoroughly.

Measure the flour, baking powder and cinnamon and then sift together directly into the batter.  Mix the batter gently until well combined and no trace of the dry ingredients remains.

Add the coconut and mix well by hand. Spread the batter evenly onto the crust and return to the oven for an additional 30 minutes or until thetop is turning golden brown.

Remove from th oven and cool on a rack for at least 1 hour. Cut just before serving.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Bars

  1. Hi Cassie. Great news! You won the give-away at my blog. Please email me your address, so I can mail you the book. BTW- I’ve seen that Fat Witch Brownies cookbook, and it looks wonderful. I adore coconut macaroons, so I’m sure I’d love these bars too.

Leave a Reply

