Appetizer: Corn Cakes with Lemon Chive Creme Fraiche

This is the first recipe in a series about a dinner I made for my parents. Read the back story here.

Although I had told my parents 6:30pm on Saturday for dinner I really had no idea what time they would show up and if I would be ready for them when they came so, I planned an appetizer as part of our menu.  Appetizers are probably the menu item with which I have the least experience. I can never seem to get my creative juices flowing and come up with an idea for a small bite before a meal.  So, I turned to Big Girls Small Kitchen for ideas.

As I was looking through I found this recipe for corn cakes which seemed perfect since it is sweet corn season in upstate New York.  I knew I would be able to purchase ears of corn at the farmers market and that I would be able to make part, if not all of it early on.

The corn cakes turned out great and were a perfect start to our meal. A couple of notes from my experience:

  • I made the mixture and then set it aside until I was ready to fry them up.
  • Despite what the recipe says, I don’t recommend heating your oil on high. Mine got waaaay too hot and popped and I have the little oil burns to prove it. After I turned off the burner and let the oil cool down, I heated it over medium-high heat and, while it still popped it wasn’t as violent.
  • Although you don’t want the oil to be too hot you do want it to be hot enough that the cakes won’t soak it up. Toss a sprinkle of water at the oil and see if it sizzles. When it does, you’re ready to fry.
  • I did end up having to put them in the oven to warm up a bit. It only took about 2 minutes since I hadn’t made them much before everyone got here. I was afraid heating them up would make them soggy but, they were still crispy and delicious.
  • I see no reason why you couldn’t substitute sour cream for creme fraiche.

I forgot to take production photos of the cakes but, here’s the final product…

And don’t forget to check out the recipe.  Tomorrow: Deliciously garlic salad dressing.

Leave a Reply

