{ASOP} Mug Brownies

I’m a Pinterest addict. I love pinning recipes and craft ideas, most of which I will never make. However, I decided to add a new category to the blog – ASOP or As Seen on Pinterest, for when I do actually make something I’ve pinned. Today’s ASOP is mug brownies.

Last night, I wanted something sweet but, didn’t have the desire or supplies to really bake anything. Instead I was perusing Pinterest when I stumbled on a recipe for mug brownies. The first time I heard of making anything in a mug in the microwave was on Michael Simon’s show where he made a “chocolate cake” in a mug. At the time, I was skeptical and when I came across mug brownies I was still skeptical. It’s hard to resist the temptation of a sweet treat in a minute and forty seconds though so, I gave it a try.

I got out my favorite Rainforest Cafe mug and added my dry ingredients:

1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup sugar

2 tbsp cocoa powder

I mixed those up in the mug and then added:

2 tbsp vegetable oil

3 tbsp water

and stirred it up until it was all combined in the mug. I also mixed in about a tablespoon of mini chocolate chips.

Then I popped the mug in the microwave and set it for 1:40 and let it go. While the mug brownie was cooking, I whipped up some fresh whipped cream.

When the timer on the microwave went off, I grabbed the mug with a pot holder ( it’s definitely hot) and stuck a butter knife in the middle to make sure it was done. Despite my suspicions, the butter knife came out clean. I let it cool a little (but not enough that my whipped cream didn’t melt a little) and grabbed a fork.

The result? It definitely tastes like a brownie but, it’s not a brownie. It’s very moist with a little bit of a chewy brownie texture but, it’s obviously missing the characteristic exterior of a classic brownie. It works for a quick, chocolaty and sweet snack if you just need something in that category but, if you’re craving brownies, it probably wouldn’t help. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate so, I ate about half and let Jerry finish the rest. I would make it again though, if I was looking for something quick and sweet.

One thought on “{ASOP} Mug Brownies

  1. This is interesting. Now I know what to prepare when I get those sudden sweet cravings. I don’t really know what this tastes like but it’s worth a try.

Leave a Reply

